The Assembly


Normally, the ICAO General Assembly is held every three years at the end of September and the beginning of October. The 41st session was held in 2022 and thus the next session is foreseen in 2025. All ICAO Member States and invited International Organizations gather in ICAO Headquarters in Montréal, Canada, and the duration is typically of two weeks.

The Assembly can convene extraordinary meetings in other locations and at other moments than the normal three years interval, should special circumstances arise and require to do so. This special gathering would be decided by the ICAO Council if at least 20% of the Member States agree to hold such special meeting. These meetings are shorter (a few days) and the last such meeting was in 2003.

Powers and Responsibilities

The Assembly has many powers that it can exercise and also many responsibilities to carry during its meetings. Namely, the Assembly is in charge of the election of the Member States that will be represented on the ICAO Council, of the examination and appropriate actions to be taken with regards to the reports the Council has produced, the approval of the budgets of ICAO, etc.


The Assembly and its many commissions may also elect to refer specific matters to other bodies for action. It can also delegate to the ICAO Council certain powers. Finally, the Assembly can take care of any other matter not currently covered or assigned to the Council or to another group. The Assembly normally comprises five different commissions: technical, administrative, economic, legal and technical cooperation. It is also during the Assembly that amendments to the Chicago are approved and sent for ratification by States.

Documents and Outcomes

Documentation and outcomes relating to past ICAO Assemblies can be found on the ICAO website. Each session links to a complete list of the official Resolutions adopted by States during its ten day proceedings, as well as to the Working and Information Papers submitted for the consideration of the contracting State delegations which participated.